Wednesday, 31 July 2013

FINA Live Blog : Swimming, Day 3 - Men's 200m freestyle: Agnel (FRA) wins second Barcelona gold

Olympic champion Yannick Agnel (FRA) bagged his second gold medal of the World Championships with a runaway victory in the men's 200m freestyle. Agnel, already a Barcelona gold medallist in the French 4x100m freestyle relay on Day 1, led all the way to take the title in 1:44.20. Conor Dwyer (USA) came through from fifth on the last length to snatch the silver in 1:45.32, with Danila Izotov (RUS), bronze medallist in 2009, claiming another bronze, in 1:45.59. It was a second Barcelona bronze for Izotov after he helped Russia to third place in the 4x100m freestyle relay.

Defending champion Ryan Lochte (USA) held third place in the middle stages of the race but finished outside the medals in fourth spot (1:45.64). Lochte, the reigning Olympic 400m individual medley champion, also finished fourth in the 200m freestyle at the 2012 London Olympics. Kosuke Hagino (JPN), silver medallist in the Barcelona 400m freestyle, was fifth. Olympic silver medallist Yang Sun chose not to contest the event, concentrating instead on the 400, 800 and 1500m freestyle, having got his campaign off to a flying start with victory in the 400. Tae-hwan Park (KOR), champion in 2011, did not defend his title.

World Record: Paul Biedermann (GER), 1:42.00 – July 28, 2009 in Rome (2009)
Championships Record: Paul Biedermann (GER), 1:42.00 – July 28, 2009 in Rome (2009)
Best performance of the current season (since January 2013): Yannick Agnel (FRA), 1:44.20 – July 30 in Barcelona (ESP)
2003-2011 winners in this event: 2003 – Ian Thorpe (AUS, 1:45.14); 2005 – Michael Phelps (USA, 1:45.20); 2007 – Michael Phelps (USA, 1:43.86); 2009 – Paul Biedermann (GER, 1:42.00); 2011 – Ryan Lochte (USA, 1:44.44)
The best in this event (1. most victories or 2. fastest time): Michael Gross (FRG, 1982 & 1986), Ian Thorpe (AUS, 2001 & 2003) and Michael Phelps (USA, 2005 & 2007)
2012 Olympic podium: 1. Yannick Agnel (FRA, 1:43.14), 2= Tae-hwan Park (KOR) and Yang Sun (CHN), 1:44.93

source : Barcelona 2013 - FINA Live Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...