Thursday, 1 August 2013

FINA Live Blog : Swimming, Day 4 - Men's 200m butterfly: Le Clos succeeds Phelps as world champion

Chad le Clos, who dethroned Michael Phelps as 200m butterfly Olympic champion, succeeded him as world champion, inheriting the crown after the retirement of the great American. The 21-year-old South African finished strongly to win in 1:54.32 ahead of former world champion Pawel Korzeniowski (POL), who had led into the last turn. Korzeniowski, gold medallist in the absence of Phelps in 2005 and silver medallist in 2009, claimed the silver in 1:55.01, with Peng Wu (CHN) collecting his fourth World Championship medal in the event, a bronze in 1:55.09 ahead of Chinese team-mate Yin Chen (1:55.47). Wu took silver in 2007 and bronze in 2005 and 2011.

Phelps had won the 200 fly title at five of the last six World Championships, having chosen not to defend it in 2005. Olympic bronze medallist Takeshi Matsuda (JPN), twice a silver medallist and once bronze at the Worlds, failed to make the final.

World Record: Michael Phelps (USA), 1:51.51 – July 29, 2009 in Rome (ITA)Championships Record: Michael Phelps (USA), 1:51.51 – July 29, 2009 in Rome (ITA)
Best performance of the current season (since January 2013): Chad le Clos (RSA), 1:54.32 – July 31, in Barcelona (ESP)
2003-2011 winners in this event: 2003 – Michael Phelps (USA, 1:54.35); 2005 – Pawel Korzeniowski (POL, 1:55.02); 2007 – Michael Phelps (USA, 1:52.09); 2009 – Michael Phelps (USA, 1:51.51); 2011 – Michael Phelps (USA, 1:53.34)
The best in this event (1. most victories or 2. fastest time): Michael Phelps (USA, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2009 & 2011)
2012 Olympic podium: 1. Chad le Clos (RSA, 1:52.96), 2. Michael Phelps (USA, 1:53.01), 3. Takeshi Matsuda (JPN, 1:53.21)

source : Barcelona 2013 - FINA Live Blog

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...