Thursday, 21 March 2013

Star Metro : Yap Siew Hui sets four new records en route to winning nine golds in MSSS

Thursday March 21, 2013

SMK CATHOLIC’S Yap Siew Hui and SMJK Yu Hua’s Nicholas Soon were named the overall champion in the girls and boys category, respectively in the Milo-Selangor Schools Sports Council (MSSS) swimming championships at the Darul Ehsan Aquatic Centre in Shah Alam recently.
Golden girl : Siew Hui sharing he proud moment with Ong.

Siew Hui, a Form Three student and also a member of the national training squad, won nine gold medals and created four new records in the girls’ Under-15 group. Her records came in the 50m butterfly (28.75); 100m butterfly (1:03.42); 200m butterfly (2:27.51) and 200m freestyle (2:13.73).

Her nine golds also contributed to Petaling Utama emerging as the overall champions with 43 gold, 15 silver and 17 bronze.

Siew Hui was excited with her golden splash and attributed her success to the intensive training with the national squad.

“I have to thank my parents, especially my mother, for their support. My mother sent me to training daily for the past three months at the National Aquatic Centre in Bukit Jalil, ’’ said Siew Hui, who was also named as the Best Swimmer in the girls’ Under-15 group.

Nicholas, a Form Three student, established three new records enroute to being crowned as Best Swimmer in the boys’ Under-15 category. His new records were in the 100m breaststroke (1:09.37), 50m breaststroke (31.82) and 200m breaststroke (2:31.45).

Swimmers from Sri Kuala Lumpur dominated both the boys and girls categories in the Under-10 group. In the boys section, David Ong Tzi Lee accumulated 64 points, created two new records and named the Best Swimmer while Nessa Yip Yi Wen set a new record and collected 60 points to be awared as the Best Swimmer in the girls’ category.

SJK (C) Yu Hua’s Sebastion Soon, with 76 points, was named the Best Swimmer in the boys’ Under-12 categpory while SJK(C)’s Rosalind Pang was voted Best Swimmer in the girls’ Under-12 category. She rewrote two new records and had 106 points.

Well done : The swimmers and officials from Sri Kuala Lumpur receiving the challenge trophy  for Best School in primary school category.

The Best Swimmer award in the boys’ Under-18 category went to Sri Emas International School’s Benny Ng Shuie. The youngster rewrote two records and had 92 points.

SMK Damansara Jaya’s Mak Ai Sin was named the Best Swimmer in the girls’ Under-18 group for creating two new records. She collected 124 points.

For the second season, SMK Catholic were crowned as the Best School with 26 gold, five silver and six bronze medals while Sri Kuala Lumpur triumphed in the primary schools with 11 gold, seven silver and two bronze medals.

SMK Catholic principal Ong Boon Puah said they were pleased to emerge champions.

“The results were because of dedicated teachers and students. The parents also had supported the students in various ways,’’ said Boon Puah.

Selangor Education Department Sports Unit Head Nor Azli Abdul Rahman said the championships was a platform for them to identify swimmers for the Milo-Malaysian Schools Sports Council (MSSM) championships, which takes place on Monday.

“Selangor will be hosting the championships. The results have given us an indication of the swimmers’ potential. Most of them are training under their respective coaches. So, we expect them to continue their training programme,’’ said Nor Azli.

Selangor Amatuer Swimming Association (Sasa) vice-president Ong Jin Kooi, who served as one of the judges at the swimming championships, said the event was a platform for promising swimmers to gain exposure.

“As state chief coach, I am also happy with the swimmers’ results. Most of the winners are also in the training programme. We were able to monitor them during the competition. We hope to see them excel in the MSSM championships,’’said Jin Kooi.

Roll of Honour

Overall champions: 1. Petaling Utama; 2. Petaling Perdana; 3. Hulu Langat.

Best school (secondary): SMK Catholic

Best School (primary): Sri Kuala Lumpur

Best swimmers


Under-10: David Ong Tzi Li (Sri Kuala Lumpur)

Under-12: Sebastian Soon (SJK(C) Yu Hua)

Under-15: Nicholas Soon (SMJK Yu Hua)

Under-18: Benny Ng Shijie (Sri Emas International School)

Overall champion: Nicholas Soon (SMJK Yu Hua)


Under-10: Nessa Yip Yi Wern (Sri Kuala Lumpur)

Under-12: Rosalind Pang (SJK(C) Lick Hung)

Under-15: Yap Siew Hui (SMK Catholic)

Under-18: Mak Ai Sin (SMK Damansara Jaya)

Overall champion: Yap Siew Hui (SMK Catholic)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...