Saturday, 2 March 2013

Tan Rou Ying and Zachary Lim named best swimmers in MSSWP 2013

The MSSWP Swimming Championship 2013 registered 34 primary schools and 45 secondary schools this year with more than 400 students taking part in the 2-day competition on 26-27 February 2013 at Bandar Tun Razak swimming pool.

SJK (C) Jalan Davidson with the most number of swimmers participating in the championship defeated last year's defending champion, SJK (C) Taman Connaught, to emerge as the overall champion under the primary schools category. Its swimmers amassed 9 gold, 6 silver and 7 bronze.

Meanwhile, the secondary defending champion,  SMK Amminuddin Baki (SAB), repeated its  victorious conquest by stockpiling 34 gold, 26 silver and 10 bronze to retain the championship title.

This was made possible as Tan Rou Ying powered the SAB team to sweep all 8 golds in her events and at the same time achieving a hat-trick of new meet records, hence earning her not only the award for U15 Best Girl but the overall champion swimmer in the secondary schools.

Tan Rou Ying on the top podium receiving her medal
U15 Girls 200m freestyle winners; from left, Zoe Bowden (silver), Tan Rou Ying (gold) and Amanda Nunis (bronze)

In the 200m freestyle event, Rou Ying swam a new time of 2:18.58s erasing an old record of 2:19.50s done in 2008. She also perfected her own record last year in 50m backstroke by renewing an improved time of 32.63s. The triumphant trilogy was charted when she dissolved a long-standing record of 2004 in her 100m freestyle by splashing a new time of 1:02.65s.

In the primary category, Zachary Lim Hong Sern, being the sole swimmer from SJK (C) Kepong 1, won the overall champion as he has one record under his belt emblemed with 5 gold honours.

Zachary Lim (middle) won the overall primary champion title with 1 meet record and 5 gold.
Zachary flying his way to touch a new meet record of 35.88s in 50m butterfly.

Meanwhile, IBSC swimmer, Keith Lim Kit Sern, swimming under the banner of SMK Taman Connaught, stormed his ways to triplet records in 50m freestyle, 100m butterfly and 50m backstroke by lifting the standards a little higher with distinct times of 24.75s, 59.27s and 28.62s respectively.

Keith Lim, a threesome winner and Best Swimmer for U18 Boys.
Anjali Lim has done Garden International School proud by winning the U12 Best Girl as she collected 5 gold, 3 silver and 2 bronze.
Adam Afif on his way to a new record of 2:35.52s in 200m breaststroke. Adam from SAB was named the U15 Best Boy. 
Lee Jia Jing, merely 10 years old, swam the U12 boys category to break the 100m breaststroke record with a new time of 1:22.38s. Jia Jing representing Sri Garden International School was happy with the U12 Best Boy bestowal.

For detail outcome please view MSSWP 2013 full results here.

Top medallists from MSSWP will be soon be shortlisted to represent the WP state for the next level of national competition at MSSM 2013 to be held end of March 2013. See more info on MSSM 2013.

U12 100m backstroke winners, from left, Anjali (bronze), Karla Lim (gold) and Christy Teh (silver)
From left, Wai Hou, Anson Chew and Jared Deck walking to the starting block
All ready to compete, from left, Zoe, Hanisah, Bonnie, Cindy and Li Wen
U15 boys backstroke event
The Bandar Tun Razak pool

View slideshow in IBSC Gallery.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...