Thursday, 5 May 2016

The NST : Jinq En sets new nat'l record in women's 100m breaststroke


KUALA LUMPUR: Phee Jing En is getting closer to qualifying for the Rio Olympics Games after she broke the women’s 100m breaststroke national record in the Malaysian Open Swimming Championships at Darul Ensan Aquatic Centre in Shah Alam today.

The Selangor swimmer erased her record of 1:08.99 set in the Singapore Age Group Championships in March by posting 1:08.65 for the gold medal.

Sarawak’s Erika Wong finished second in 1:12.26 while Vanessa Evato of Indonesia took third on 1:13.06 Her new national record in the 100m race is inside the ‘B’ Olympic qualifying timing of 1:10.22.

The ‘A’ time, which guarantees an Olympic spot, is 1:07.85.

On her win, Jinq En said: “I swam really fast from the start but felt exhausted in the last 25 metres of the race. I told myself to keep on going and held on,” said Jinq En.

She will compete in the 50m breaststroke today.


• Men’s 100m freestyle: 1 Triady Fauzi Sidiq (Ina) 50.36, 2 Welson Sim (Sar) 50.64, 3 Aaron D’ Souza (Ind) 50.98;

400m individual medley: 1 Ricky Anggawidjaja (Ina) 4:36.63, 2 Alex Tiong (Sar) 4:42.66, 3 Arvin Shaun Singh Chahal (Ter) 4:44.49;

100m breaststroke: 1 Sandeep Sejwal (Ind) 1:02.45 (MR), 2 Kwok Ka Fai (Hkg) 1:02.99, 3 Wong Fu Kang (Joh) 1:03.52;

200m butterfly: 1 Supriya Mondal (Ind) 2:00.54, 2 Muhammad Hamgari (Ina) 2:03.06, 3 Ayman Klezi (Syr) 2:03.80;

4x100m medley relay: 1: Indonesia 3:45.49 (MR), 2 Hong Kong 3:49.34, 3 Selangor 3:58.42.

Women’s 100m freestyle: 1 Camille Cheng (Hkg) 55.34 (MR), 2 Chan Kin Lok (Hkg) 57.87, 3 Sagita Putri Krisdewanti (Ina) 58.05;

400m individual medley: 1 Phiangkhwan Pawapotako (Tha) 4:55.28, 2 Azzahra Permatahani (Ina) 4:58.49, 3 Ressa Kania Dewi (Ina) 5:01.31;

100m breaststroke: 1 Phee Jinq En (Sel) 1:08.65 (NR), 2 Erika Kong (Sar) 1:12.26, 3 Vanessa Evato (Ina) 1:13.06;

200m butterfly: 1 Raina Saumi Grahana (Ina) 2:19.62, 2 Nicholle Toh (Sin) 2:19.79, 3 Azzahra Permatahani (Ina) 2:20.91;

4x100m medley relay: 1 Hong Kong 4:03.10 (MR), 2 Indonesia 4:23.23, 3 Selangor 4:28.58.

Read More :

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...